Greensburg Daily News, Greensburg, IN

August 2, 2013

AFA announces 2013 Leader in Agriculture award recipients

Greensburg Daily News

---- — KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Because of their commitment to agriculture and young leaders,Agriculture Future of America selected Vanessa Kummer and Bob Stallman as the 2013 Leader in Agriculture Award recipients.

Through this award AFA honors individuals whose personal accomplishments and professional careers have distinguished them as mentors to young leaders and others in the agriculture industry.

Bob Stallman Kummer, a North Dakota farmer, is the immediate past chair of the United Soybean Board. She was the first female to serve in this capacity and has held numerous other positions on the board. Kummer and her family raise soybeans, wheat, corn and sugar beets on their farm near Colfax, N.D.

Stallman, a rice and cattle producer from Columbus, Texas, serves as 11th president of the American Farm Bureau Federation. Prior to being elected to president in 2000, Stallman served as the president of the Texas Farm Bureau. In addition to his Farm Bureau involvement, Stallman has served on numerous state and federal committees and currently serves as the chairman of the U.S. Farmers and Ranchers Alliance.

“Both Kummer and Stallman have distinguished themselves as leaders and spokespersons for American agriculture,” said Russ Weathers, AFA president and CEO. “The Leader in Agriculture Award embodies the vision of AFA student leaders and honors their role models. We look forward to the Leader in Agriculture Award Dinner where these two leaders will share their personal visions for agriculture with our student delegates and dinner guests.”

Kummer and Stallman will be officially recognized at the Leader in Agriculture Award Dinner on Nov. 8, 2013, at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. This dinner is held in conjunction with the AFA Leaders Conference. The Conference, which hosts over 550 of the top collegiate men and women preparing for agriculture careers, will be held Nov. 7-10 in Kansas City, Mo.

Past Leader in Agriculture Award recipients include Kansas State University distinguished professor of agricultural economics, Dr. Barry Flinchbaugh; farmer and president of the Howard G. Buffett Foundation, Howard G. Buffett; founder and chairman emeritus of Cactus Feeders Inc., Paul F. Engler; president of Agri-Pulse Communications Inc., Sara R. Wyant; former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Clayton Yeutter; U.S. Senator Pat Roberts; Nobel Peace Prize recipient, the late Dr. Norman E. Borlaugh; agribusiness director of WGN Radio, Orion Samuelson and former president and CEO of Farmland Industries, Inc., the late H.D. “Harry” Cleberg. For a complete list of past recipients, go to

Tagline (right aligned):– Daily News