Greensburg Daily News, Greensburg, IN

September 25, 2013

Our Hospice announces new president

Greensburg Daily News

---- — COLUMBUS — The board of directors of Our Hospice of South Central Indiana is pleased to announce that Laura Hurt has been chosen to serve as the organization’s President effective later this fall.

Hurt replaces Sandy Carmichael, Our Hospice’s longstanding President, who is retiring after 33 years.

Hurt brings both clinical and management experience to her new role. She most recently served as Director of Volunteer Services and Diversity Strategy at Columbus Regional Hospital where she coordinated the activities of 225 auxiliary volunteers and the Hospital Gift Shop. In addition she was responsible for developing and implementing diversity strategies to better serve patients, employees and the community.

Tom Dowd, President of Our Hospice Board of Directors states, “Laura brings a wealth of community knowledge to Our Hospice with her various board duties in and around Bartholomew County such as Heritage Fund, Su Casa, and Columbus Regional Hospital Foundation” Laura’s expertise in clinical services will be an additional asset in her new role as President of Our Hospice. We are very excited to have Laura on board and look forward to continued growth in the communities in which we serve.”

“Our Hospice is such a treasure in our communities, I am deeply honored to be following in the footsteps of such legacy and continue the tradition of excellence in care to patients and families,” said Hurt. “At this time of important changes in healthcare, I am happy to be a part of what the future of Our Hospice will be.”

Hurt received undergraduate degrees in both General Studies and Nursing from Indiana University. She has worked closely with the Healthy Communities Initiative, Su Casa, and Volunteers in Medicine and currently serves on the Mayor’s Advisory Committee on Strategic City Priorities, the Heritage Fund Community Foundation Board and Outreach Committee, the IUPUC Chancellor’s Diversity Council and numerous other community boards and committees. She is a past recipient of the IUPUC Excellence in Diversity Award and the William R. Laws Human Rights Award.

For more information please call (812) 314-8000 or visit

Tagline (right aligned):— Daily News