Greensburg Daily News, Greensburg, IN

June 12, 2013

Decatur County eighth graders receive Congressional honors

Rob Cox
Greensburg Daily News

Greensburg — Last week, six eighth-grade students representing all three Decatur County Junior High Schools were awarded the Eighth Grade Congressional Scholars Award recognizing academic achievement.

Congressman Luke Messer of Indiana’s 6th Congressional District was on hand at the Batesville High School auditorium to present the awards to more than 100 Southeast Indiana eighth graders.

William Smiley and Stacy Fox of South Decatur Junior-Senior High School; Rylie Smith and Kole McGinn of Greensburg Junior High School; and Joseph Seiter and Lindsey Rousseau of North Decatur Junior High School represented both Decatur County and their schools in accepting the honor.

“It is important that we recognize these excellent young scholars for their achievements and encourage them to continue their success both inside and outside of the classroom,” Messer said. “As a young student, I participated in a similar program led by Richard Lugar, who was a U.S. Senator at that time. That program had a positive impact on my life and inspired me toward public service. I hope this program inspires these students toward leadership as well.”

The June 6 presentation was sponsored by Hillenbrand, Inc., of Batesville.

Contact: Rob Cox 812-663-3111 x7011