Greensburg Daily News, Greensburg, IN

July 6, 2012

2012 New Point School annual reunion

Greensburg Daily News

Greensburg — Former students of the New Point School held their annual reunion at the New Point Community Center Saturday, June 23.

Members from the graduating classes of 1932, 1942, 1952 and 1962 were in attendance, along with over 100 other students and guests.

Keeping with school tradition, the event opened with the Pledge of the Allegiance and a prayer by Harold Barber, Class of 1958.

Gerald Lawrence, Class of 1948, served as Master of Ceremonies.

There was recognition and a moment of silence in memory of high school graduates who died during the past year. These included Glenn ÒJackÓ Stewart '36, William Parmer '49, Robert Kinker '46, Donald Ray Minning '52, Orville J. Kinker '54, Delbert Wingham '54, Lowell Miller '58, Ernest Barber '59 and Nola Thackery Wolf '66 (graduated from North Decatur High School).

Departed graduates were individually remembered with yellow roses in bud vases embellished with blue and gold ribbon. These tributes adorned the banquet tables throughout the Community Center.  

A highlight of the day was honoring Urma Bredewater Puttman, Class of 1932. Although she graduated over 80 years ago, Urma was delighted to attend the reunion and reminisce with others about her days at New Point School.

The oldest living graduate, Goldia Williams Miller, 99, was also in attendance. Both of these ÒseniorÓ graduates are life-long residents of the community.

1942 graduates being honored at this reunion included Clara Kress Kunz and Dale Lange.

Arthur Metz was the sole member present from the class of 1952.

Nine members of the class of 1962 attended.

They included Everett Barber, Gary Cornett, Larry Kendall, Carl Muckerheide, Darlene Raley Rethlake, Janice Larrison Soendlin, Carol Stewart Rathburn, Virginia Cramer Stewart and Harold Wessel.

After introductions and remarks from guests, a brief business meeting was held. Several graduates shared their favorite memories of teachers and activities while attending New Point School.

Custom-crafted display cases filled with New Point School memorabilia were unveiled. The many historical and nostalgic items donated by graduates, as well as trophies, sports uniforms, signed game balls, and recognition plaques will be permanently exhibited at the New Point Community Building.

Committee members in charge of the 2012 event included Janet (Miller) Duval, Janet Henry, Janice (Larrison) Soendlin, Leveana (Scudder) Johnson, Carol (Stewart) Rathburn, Glenna J. (Stewart) Geis, Emma (Reynolds) Walke and Mary (Rousey) Demaree.

The next school reunion will be held June 22, 2013 at the New Point Community Building.

For further information contact Janet Barber Duval, or 812-852-4233.