Greensburg Daily News, Greensburg, IN

February 12, 2013

Pirate freshman boys capture EIAC

Greensburg Daily News

Greensburg — The Greensburg freshman boys basketball team won the Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference tournament by defeating the Franklin County Wildcats 43-31.

The young Pirates had to beat Batesville (4-1 in the conference for the regular season) in the first round on Saturday with a 40-27 win. In the first round game against Batesville, Peyton Buening led all scorers with 18 points, Keegan McCullough had 14 points Chandler Deaton had 6, and Alex Pokrzywinski had 2.

In the second round, the Pirates beat the East Central Trojans (4-1 conference in regular season) 39-35. In the semi-final game against East Central, Spencer Burkert led the Pirates with 11 points, Peyton Buening and Chandler Deaton both had 9 points, Keegan McCullough had 8 points and Austin Kane had 2.

The Pirates rounded out in the championship with a 43-31 win, as the Franklin County Wildcats were 4-1 conference regular season as well. The Pirates were led by Peyton Buening with 18 points. Chandler Deaton had 10, Jaden Smith added seven and Austin Kane put in three. Spencer Burkert and Devon Brown added two points each, and Keegan McCullough chipped in one point.

The Pirates finish the season with an 11-5 record and EIAC champions.

In the regular season, Franklin County won 37-34, East Central won 45-36, and Batesville beat Greensburg 50-42. The Pirates had lost to those three teams in that order in the regular season, and were 5-5.

“We were struggling and played Jennings County and ended the regular season beating them, Lawrenceburg, and Hauser to open tournament play, and ended the season with a six game winning streak,” noted coach Scott Ferguson. “The boys just refused to lose and bought in to being disciplined especially on the defensive end.”

Members of the team are Christian Dance, Keegan McCullough, Alex Pokrzywinski, Jaden Smith, Peyton Buening, Austin Kane, Alex Martinez, Chandler Deaton, Spencer Burkert, Matt Navarra and Devin Brown.