Pratt named Lilly Scholarship winner

Contributed PhotoSeen here is 2015 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar Caroline Pratt (back row, far right) and this year’s four semi-finalists. In front are Grant Veerkamp (South Decatur High School) and Nick Oesterling (Greensburg Community High School). Behind them are Natalie Rivera (Greensburg Community High School), Nicole Scott (North Decatur High School) and Caroline Pratt (Greensburg Community High School).

GREENSBURG – Greensburg Community High School (GCHS) senior Caroline Pratt has been named the Decatur County Community Foundation (DCCF) 2015 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar, the DCCF announced Friday.

Caroline will receive full tuition for four years to the Indiana college of her choice, along with a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

The Lilly Scholar is the daughter of John and Jill Pratt of Greensburg. As a student at GCHS, Caroline is a member of Student Council, National Honor Society, marching/pep band, speech team, captain of the dance team, and member of the tennis team. She also participates in the Big Brothers-Big Sisters Lunch Buddy program and is a member of the BB-BS Board of Directors. Caroline plans on attending either Butler University or Valparaiso University to study International Relations.

The Decatur County Community Foundation also awarded a $5,000 scholarship to each of the four semi-finalists. This scholarship can be used over four years at any Indiana college. Those receiving the Decatur County Community Foundation Scholarship are GCHS student Nicholas Oesterling, son of Mark and Lore Oesterling; GCHS student Natalie Rivera, daughter of Jamie and Beverly Rivera; North Decatur High School (NDHS) student Nicole Scott, daughter of David and Marilyn Scott; and South Decatur High School (SDHS) student Grant Veerkamp, son of Robert and Michelle Veerkamp.

Decatur County’s five finalists were selected from 49 applications submitted by high school seniors who live in Decatur County. The five students with the highest scores became the finalists. These finalists then went through a rigorous process, which included a controlled essay, oral presentation and interview. After all of the judging was completed, the finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for selection of the recipient.

Tami Wenning, Executive Director for the Decatur County Community Foundation, said, “This was my first time through the Lilly process as Executive Director and I am so impressed by the processes in place to ensure fairness.” “And,” she continued, “I am even more impressed with the effort put forth by these students. They are all winners and our families and schools should be proud to send them out in the world to represent our community.”

– Daily News