Eric Fehrman of Greensburg won the UMRA midget feature race at the Mt. Lawn Speedway Saturday night.

After starting 10th in the 27-car field, Fehrman got to the front on Lap 8 using the outside lane to pick of three competitors in the big sweeping Turn 1 and down the backstretch.

Fehrman not only won the feature, but also set fast time at 16.061 seconds, won the dash and also picked up a heat win in the first of four midget heats.

Other heat winners were Jason Willis of North Bend, Ohio, Nick Spieled of Muncie and Jason Goff of Fortville.

Terry Goff of Fortville, who had been unbeatable at Mt. Lawn until this year, could only finish second to Fehrman—a full three seconds behind.

Following Goff was Spieled, Willis, Patrick Wolfe of Arlington, point leader Kenny Byrge of Dunkirk, Scott Petry of Greenfield, Joey Paxson of Connersville, Chad Hankins of Connersville and Jeremy Rainwater of Cicero.

Ron Combs of Greensburg, 2005 points champion, took a nasty flip in Turn 1 on Lap 7 bringing out the red flag. After a few anxious moments and being attended to by the Life Team Ambulance service, Combs climbed out of his damaged racer to the cheers of the relieved crowd.

Wolfe won the 20-lap semi-feature.

Seventeen Big-O Tire Thunder Cars took the green flag with Carl Nickle of Arlington picking up the first feature win of his career. Nickle started in eighth spot and was able to take the lead on the first lap to lead all the way. Jason Thompson of Wilkinson finished second after losing his transmission on his qualification attempt. Thompson was able replace the transmission in time to test his car at the rear of the second Thunder heat.

Eric Evans of Greenfield, Pam McConnell of Shirley, Kevin Claborn of Cambridge City, Brian Morrow of Selma, David McConnell of Shirley, Johnny Fugate of Cambridge City, Brandon Mefford of Knightstown and Gordon Guffey of New Castle followed Thompson.

Ray Evans of Greenfield set fast time at 19.262. Claborn won the dash with David McConnell and Morrow winning the heats.

Keith Morris of Mt. Summit picked up a big pay day by winning the Dependable Drywall Hornet oval feature and also winning the $200 to win US Auto Group Loop d’ Loop race. Morris started 16th in the 18-car field and didn’t reach the front until Lap 18. Cody Rhinhart of Carthage started sixth and led the first 17 laps.

Morris was followed in the oval event by Cody Rhinhart of Carthage, Dean Morris of New Castle, Russ Humes of Middletown, Joyce Dyer of Greenfield, Lee Lowe of New Castle, Jeremy Chamblis of Middletown, point leader Chris Oldham of Greensboro, Scott Tungate of New Castle and Chris Jennings of Richmond.

Tungate set fast time for the Hornets at 20.378. Keith Morris won the dash with Mike Vaccaro of Middletown and Rhinhart winning the heats. Dyer finished second in the Loop d’ Loop followed by Humes, Jason Atkinson of New Castle and Mark Dalworth of Middletown.

In the street drags, Kenny Boykin of New Castle and Branscum met in the finals. Boykin bumped Branscum in the short turn almost sending the duo into the front stretch wall. Branscum stopped about 20 feet short of the finish line waiting for Boykin to get his car straight and the two went on a 20-foot drag race with Boykin taking the win.

This week at Mt. Lawn, USAC regional midgets, Indiana Ford Focus and Kenyon Midgets will return Wednesday evening and on Saturday, Motion Motor Late Models, Big-O Tire Thunders Dependable Drywall Hornets and street drags will make up the racing program.

Recommended for you